google nest merging

Google Nest is here. Today, we will give a quick recap to remind you of the recent announcement.

Nest and Google have combined into a single brand smart home team. Google announced the change on Tuesday at Google I/O as the company debuted the jointly produced Nest Hub Max -- a smart display with a Nest Cam. As part of the change, Nest customers will be asked to convert their Nest accounts into Google accounts.

The pair have been working together since last year, so putting all the products under one umbrella name makes sense. Smart displays, smart speakers, Chromecast streamers, Google Wi-Fi products and all of Nest's old gadgets -- including thermostats and cameras -- will all be part of Google Nest.

What Does This Mean For Nest Customers?

Longtime Nest customers might find the change the most daunting. Your Nest account won't be going away, and you'll still be able to use the Nest app, at least for now. Google hasn't announced any plans to get rid of either yet, but you'll be strongly encouraged to move from a Nest account to a Google account sooner than later.

Nest accounts will move into a maintenance mode and only get security updates, while new features will be reserved for Google accounts. Google hasn't released specific instructions yet for how you'll convert accounts. Those will most likely surface over the next few months as Google begins its push for merged accounts.

You still can't set up many Nest devices -- including the Nest Cam and Nest Learning Thermostat ($214 at Amazon) -- with the Google Home app, so hopefully, that functionality will be in place before Google starts shifting customers away from the Nest app. Outside of setup, you can already control Nest devices using the Google Home app, though security alerts for the Nest Cam are delivered via Nest. Even the Nest Cam in the new Hub Max will use the Nest app for alerts, so Google has some work to do to port everything over.

How Does This Affect Your Household?

One big change for Nest customers is that you won't be able to limit what members of your household can do. Once you unify homes, any member of your Nest home will have full access to all of your devices and settings. You'll be able to add and remove people from your home, but they'll also be able to remove you. With that being said, be careful who you add. When you convert, you'll be asked which family members you'd like to bring to your new unified home.

If you're a family member -- as opposed to an owner -- of a Nest home, you can migrate to a Google account while keeping access to the Nest home. It won't be converted until the owner makes the change, at which point you'll get an invite to the new unified home if they send you one.

Your Subscription

You won't see a disruption in service for premium services such as Nest Aware. After you convert, you'll need to use the Google store to make changes and buy new subscriptions. If you don't convert, you'll continue managing your subscriptions through Nest.

You can decide what you want to share, but Google collects data from most devices for the sake of improving services. Google says it won't sell your information to advertisers.

All those these changes may seem daunting for current Nest customers; the overall goal is to make things better and more accessible through the Google Nest products and all that it encompasses.

Leave a comment

All comments are moderated before being published