cat6 home wiring
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

teancum
Starting Member

3 Posts

Posted - 12/28/2010 :  10:47:27 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I'm a noob to installing cable wiring, but because we are going to start finishing the basement soon I decided to install cat6 outlets in each room while it's easy. Currently I have planned to install 2 cat6 jacks and 2 phone jacks in each room (2 phone because the cable can take it...and why not...even if it's a little extra). I've run cable to 2 rooms to start with, to make sure everything is working correctly, but I think I've run into a snag. Essentially I'm doing home run wiring to a central location in the basement where I will put the cable modem and the router (currently an old linksys, with a new netgear on the way) and switches (which I will add as needed). Everything is hooked up and I'm getting connectivity everywhere, but at about half the speed that I used to get. Prior to moving the modem and router downstairs with the new cabling I was getting about 8Mbps, but with the new setup it's around 4.
Initially when I installed the cables and was hooking everything up on the first cable I was using the T568B standard on both ends (the jack in the wall upstairs and the male jack on the other end to plug into the router), but I didn't get any signal. However, when I switch the male end to use the crossover standard I started getting a signal, but, as I said at about half the speed I was getting before.
So, what it comes down to is...did I wire something wrong, which is causing the slower speeds and/or did the cable need to be a crossover configuration?
Thanks in advance!

Tfitzpatri8
Administrator

USA
8263 Posts

Posted - 12/28/2010 :  1:06:59 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote