Talk About the Latest in Home Automation/Home Electronics
Home Automation Forum

Smarthome Forum
Shop All INSTEON Products
Login or Register
 
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Search | FAQ | Smarthome
 All Forums
 General Discussion
 INSTEON
 Insteon Product/Module Requests [?]
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Previous Page | Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 33

mteator
Senior Member

USA
266 Posts

Posted - 05/20/2006 :  6:54:01 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Mine are the opposite end of the spectrum... my internet gateway is a dual PPro200 runing slackware that I picked up for $25 :) I get a lot more value out of it than the power it uses every month... especialy since our electric rates here are 5 cents per KWH.

Getting back on topic... I'd dig a web interface for the new software program. If it has to stay on all the time, I'd at least like the ability to remotely manage it via a web interface.

Edited by - mteator on 05/20/2006 7:00:59 PM
Go to Top of Page

VTCarl
Starting Member

11 Posts

Posted - 05/22/2006 :  07:34:50 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Another reason to not have the lighting control dependent on the computer - not all computers reboot after power fail. I've come home from vacation to a dark house before.

With X10, I used a 24/7 linux computer that also served as my web server. But, I haven't seen linux drivers similar to the ppower code I'd been using. I'm also trying to retire this computer and don't have another that supports power fail reboot.
Go to Top of Page

shirazcupala
Starting Member

USA
6 Posts

Posted - 05/29/2006 :  11:36:13 AM  Show Profile  Visit shirazcupala's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Need wireless remotes! Keychains, multi control keypads etc. But less chintzy hopefully than the old X10 keypads. I should assume this since the other Insteon stuff is well designed/made (except the clunky controlinc).

Also, outdoor stuff like floodlamps (wireless solar would we awesome) weather proof outdoor lighting remote switch controllers.

Lastly, built-in outlets with insteon (instead of the plugin deals which are also rather chunky for 2006.

In KeypadLinc ability to remove the fixed local button for full control. I did something different where I set the keypad to 8 button but left on the 6-button face. This was initially because I was lazy, but then I designed the two horizontal buttons to be mini horizontal toggle buttons with a nice label to reflect that (left is on/bright and right is off/dim. I actually think that if i had more horizontal plates I'd want to do that with other keypad buttons so in some cases there are just 4 horizontal buttons on the KeypadLinc. In this case you actually need to sell more blank white horizontal button faces and I'm not sure if the filler plate will even take them in the middle part as I haven't tested yet.

Also, my wife HATES that the LED lights are SOO bright on the switches. At night I hate it too and have to cover them with an index card taped on just to get some shuteye. Now i'm going around using sharpie on the light pipes to tone it down. I haven't figured out a solution for the keypads though. For all this wonderful lighting "control", the light pollution from the all the modules is laughable. I think for the keypads i can replace the labels with a cardstock to block more light without having to resort to white letters on black background. All this shouldn't be necessary though.

I really do like Insteon and look forward to more and improvements. Please keep up the work.

Thanks, Shiraz

------------------
Shiraz Cupala
Seattle, WA
Go to Top of Page

bcmayes
Average Member

100 Posts

Posted - 06/02/2006 :  07:25:03 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I'd like to see:

1) "Socket rocket" type modules.
Having more than one X10 version is a nightmare! Setting the address on one requires that the others be disconnected or they all re-address!

2) 3-prong ApplianceLinc modules with the outlet reversed (that is, the ground plug facing outward). As they are now, with the ground plug on the inside, many 90-degree cords are unusable as they have the ground prong facing the cord (if you have a small Panasonic A/C, you know what I mean).

3) Heavy-duty (15A and 20A) appliance modules

4) Remote control transmitters and receivers

5) Receptacles of all types

6) Better-looking and more robust desktop controllers
ControlLinc is a nice start, but it has only 5 on/off pairs and is seriously lacking in the style department.

Edited by - bcmayes on 06/02/2006 07:27:08 AM
Go to Top of Page

mosleyh
Starting Member

6 Posts

Posted - 06/03/2006 :  11:31:50 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
A weatherproof module (for landscape lighting)
Go to Top of Page

bcmayes
Average Member

100 Posts

Posted - 06/13/2006 :  1:52:03 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
quote:
Originally posted by Calox

What Insteon products are forum users waiting for?




Okay for me the real must-have would be an INSTEON SwitchLinc RX comparable to the X10 SwitchLinc RX Plus (at http://www.smarthome.com/2386W2.HTML or at least the PLC. Both dimmer and relay models.

The X10s are a bit of a pain because X10 devices that don't use code wheels are a bit of a pain to set up, and a reset puts them all at A1. Still, I'll use the X10 for now (wish I'd discovered sooner...this shipping is starting to add up), but INSTEON would be much better.

Byron
Go to Top of Page

mike
Advanced Member

USA
1131 Posts

Posted - 06/16/2006 :  08:22:31 AM  Show Profile  Visit mike's Homepage  Send mike an AOL message  Reply with Quote
Thanks for all of the product suggestions and feedback. Keep them coming as you have new ideas.

I have tallied up the requests and sent them along.

SmartLabsMike
INSTEON - Linking Everything to Everything Else.
http://www.insteon.net
Go to Top of Page

paceyben
Senior Member

361 Posts

Posted - 06/21/2006 :  11:31:41 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
How about cheaper slave Icon & Switchlinc switches w/ no direct load control?
Go to Top of Page

smeehrrr
Starting Member

1 Posts

Posted - 06/21/2006 :  3:14:13 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
The IR bridge is the only must-have for me. It's the only thing keeping me from switching to Insteon today.
Go to Top of Page

Calox
New Member

19 Posts

Posted - 06/23/2006 :  2:03:53 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
quote:
Originally posted by sommerlund
...I want to be able to control Insteon from my Harmony 880...



I think Logitech just released the Harmony 890, which has RF capabilities built in and is upgradable via USB. Maybe Logitech and Insteon can work together to develop some sort of codebase/bridge. It would be awesome to have "one [remote] to rule them all"!
Go to Top of Page

mteator
Senior Member

USA
266 Posts

Posted - 06/23/2006 :  3:49:38 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
The Harmony 890 uses ZWave for it's RF communications. And it's buggy as all heck... mine sits in the drawer as it's so unreliable. It's been out for close to a year.

~Michael
Go to Top of Page

gregjsmith
Average Member

USA
67 Posts

Posted - 06/25/2006 :  3:18:45 PM  Show Profile  Visit gregjsmith's Homepage  Reply with Quote
I'd like a motion detector with light sensor, like the current MS10As. However instead of just a dusk dawn sensor, a ambient light sensor where you can get the amount of light.

http://www.greginthedesert.net/
Go to Top of Page

Charbinjr
Starting Member

USA
9 Posts

Posted - 06/26/2006 :  05:46:45 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I'd like to control a 220V motor on my pool filter. Are there any modules that handle such a load? Even an X-10 device if controlable by Insteon devices is acceptable. Thanks for your help.

Thank God we don't get all of the government that we pay for!
Go to Top of Page

jwilleke
Starting Member

USA
4 Posts

Posted - 07/13/2006 :  4:36:32 PM  Show Profile  Send jwilleke a Yahoo! Message  Reply with Quote
Java and .NET APIs would be great.
-jim

quote:
Originally posted by Calox

What Insteon products are forum users waiting for?

I know that I have a a handful, but I'd like to see what other forum users are thinking. Here's my list:

- Wireless/Wired Motion Detectors
- Wireless Remotes
- Thermostats
- Plug-in Modules (i.e. "Socket Rockets")
- Security Cameras

Go to Top of Page

Xpendable
Advanced Member

USA
617 Posts

Posted - 07/14/2006 :  11:33:38 AM  Show Profile  Visit Xpendable's Homepage  Reply with Quote
jwilleke,

If you have the SDK, you can use the SDM3 com object in .NET just fine.
Go to Top of Page

chadg
Junior Member

46 Posts

Posted - 07/20/2006 :  6:28:15 PM  Show Profile  Click to see chadg's MSN Messenger address  Reply with Quote
Fan Switch! I really, really wish there was an Insteon fan switch like this:

http://www.mjmonline.net/twowifawacof.html

This switch allows you to control both fan speed and light with just one power line to the fan. This switch uses two piecies with RF signal from the wall swtich to the controller up in the fan.

With insteon the communication can be over the power line. I think this would be a great seller!

Go to Top of Page

mike
Advanced Member

USA
1131 Posts

Posted - 07/21/2006 :  07:43:33 AM  Show Profile  Visit mike's Homepage  Send mike an AOL message  Reply with Quote
Great idea. I know several people have requested similar fan/light controllers in one.

SmartLabsMike
INSTEON - Linking Everything to Everything Else.
http://www.insteon.net
Go to Top of Page

cmhardwick
Senior Member

377 Posts

Posted - 07/21/2006 :  08:41:56 AM  Show Profile  Visit cmhardwick's Homepage  Reply with Quote
inline fan controls would be good to, stepped for 3 or 4 speeds. My bonus room only has 2 wires to the fans, so I'm planning on, when available, keypad at switch location, no local load, controlling inline dimmer for lights and inline fan speed (when available) for fans. If not, I'll use dimmers on both and see how it works.

Cicero
New to home auto and driving my wife CRAZY!! (well, not new to driving her crazy, but you know what I mean)
Go to Top of Page

Douglas Lorenz
Average Member

USA
66 Posts

Posted - 07/21/2006 :  09:53:50 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
That is exactly what I did for a fan using a KeypadLinc and two inline dimmers... It works fine... Check out:

http://www.smarthome.com/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=362

Go to Top of Page

chadg
Junior Member

46 Posts

Posted - 07/21/2006 :  10:40:01 AM  Show Profile  Click to see chadg's MSN Messenger address  Reply with Quote
Where did you physicaly put the inline dimmers? They are pretty big....
Go to Top of Page

cmhardwick
Senior Member

377 Posts

Posted - 07/21/2006 :  11:20:23 AM  Show Profile  Visit cmhardwick's Homepage  Reply with Quote
that's what I'll have to do as well, mount a separate jbox up there for the inlines, probably each in a separate one for better heat disipation. but, with the current heat wave, i'm NOT crawling around in my attic anytime soon hehehe

Cicero
New to home auto and driving my wife CRAZY!! (well, not new to driving her crazy, but you know what I mean)
Go to Top of Page

mike
Advanced Member

USA
1131 Posts

Posted - 07/25/2006 :  09:30:40 AM  Show Profile  Visit mike's Homepage  Send mike an AOL message  Reply with Quote
Lets try to keep this on topic. If you have other questions please start a new thread in the forum.

I would like to keep this to product requests only.

thanks!

SmartLabsMike
INSTEON - Linking Everything to Everything Else.
http://www.insteon.net
Go to Top of Page

PeterW
Junior Member

USA
32 Posts

Posted - 07/25/2006 :  1:33:22 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
My wish list:

1) RF remotes. eg: Insteon versions of these two:
http://www.smarthome.com/4001X.HTML
http://www.smarthome.com/4004.html
and at some point:
http://www.smarthome.com/4012.html

2) Ethernet version of powerlincV2. I dont care how it works, so long as its fast. Make it a premium product if you have to in order to get speed. I don't care about a web interface, but obviously it would be nice. Ideally, I'd like it to implement the SDM3 http commands, so imagine it as a SDM3-in-a-box with a built in (fast!!) powerlincV2. Add on a web interface later if needed.

3) Insteon sprinkler controller. eg: WGL designs rain8.

4) Insteon relay module and dry contact sensor (powerflash replacement). eg: http://www.smarthome.com/2010.HTML and http://www.smarthome.com/4060.html
The UPB folks have a combined module that does relay, dry contact sensing and even telephone ring detection, but I think I'd prefer dedicated devices. These devices are fairly important IMHO, even if they aren't exactly high profile because they enable interconnction with so many other random devices. (Doorbells, garage doors, gates, key switches, you name it!)

5) Insteon chime module. eg: http://www.smarthome.com/2045.html More useful once dry contact module above is done.

6) Insteon motion and door sensors. eg: http://www.smarthome.com/4086v2.html and http://www.smarthome.com/7351.HTML

7) Insteon diagnostic device or data logger. Should report signal strengths, transmission errors, apparent timeouts, etc. Should enable pairing with a device in order to see all of its commands and packets. This may be easier said than done due to the nature of Insteon. Because of the repeater network, there is no guarantee that you'll see both halves of a command + ack. Still, I'd like to know when there is traffic going to an apparently unreachable device. eg: something like this: http://www.smarthome.com/4814.html (not a testerlincV2, because a powerlincV2 hides too much information)
Go to Top of Page

gregjsmith
Average Member

USA
67 Posts

Posted - 07/25/2006 :  6:26:37 PM  Show Profile  Visit gregjsmith's Homepage  Reply with Quote
quote:
Originally posted by PeterW

3) Insteon sprinkler controller. eg: WGL designs rain8.


I emailed WGL about it, they are working on it.

http://www.greginthedesert.net/
Go to Top of Page

jhimmel
Average Member

114 Posts

Posted - 07/25/2006 :  7:42:13 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
quote:
Originally posted by gregjsmith

quote:
Originally posted by PeterW

3) Insteon sprinkler controller. eg: WGL designs rain8.


I emailed WGL about it, they are working on it.



These people are too -

http://simplehomenet.com/
Go to Top of Page

dtich
Starting Member

3 Posts

Posted - 07/28/2006 :  11:08:30 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
thermostats/temp sensors
irrigation controls
receptacles (outlets)
fire/smoke dets
12/24VDC relay banks/triggers (for audio/vis automation apps)/crestron int'fce?
wired pir sensors, other security items, pir/flood light combo unit
enet interface for powerlinc, etc.
rf remotes, definitely.
and ir blasters. tcp/ip with insteon control. multiple led/channels. would be great.


Edited by - dtich on 07/29/2006 11:22:38 AM
Go to Top of Page

John Woodworth
Starting Member

USA
5 Posts

Posted - 08/02/2006 :  1:18:30 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
How about a timer switch in the toggle series?

Edited by - John Woodworth on 08/02/2006 1:25:27 PM
Go to Top of Page

xymox1
Junior Member

USA
58 Posts

Posted - 08/03/2006 :  5:03:33 PM  Show Profile  Visit xymox1's Homepage  Reply with Quote
The above suggestion of a Crestron interface is already done.

You need a Powerlinc 1132B with RS232, a free Crestron RS232 port and one of various Crestron modules available from a number of support places - If you need the module let me know. Anything you can do using a powerlink, including 2-way stuff, you can do from Crestron seamlessly.

However, Insteon may not be available as easily as the new powerlinc 2414S commands are different. It would be a snap to make a Crestron module for it however, I just don't have any clients who have adopted Insteon yet.

Obviously a fater interface would be better. Use at least a 100Mb/s Ethernet as its a standard. A 2414E.

Smarthome could work with Crestron and get a official module included with the Crestron programming software Simpl. This would encourage adoption of Insteon by automation pros. Leviton and Lutron have already done this with the full range of the products they offer. Or SH could offer a Crestron module on the web site for easy download by Crestron programmers.

Crestron + Powerlinc has been around for quite a while.

I have been doing Crestron with X10 from the very first X10 computer interfaces many years ago.

These work perfectly and mix professional automation control with Smarthome products seamlessly.

And Dtich, I believe once you interface to Crestron you can hit every other thing on your list using something that Crestron can talk to. Prob is that is hella expensive to go down that path.

Let the automation guys like Crestron do the automation and think of Insteon as a device to be interfaced with - Insteon should not be thought of as the primary control system if a Crestron is avaliable in the system. However as a interface to other devices it makes sense.


Chris Stephens -- www.xymox1.com

Edited by - xymox1 on 08/03/2006 5:49:15 PM
Go to Top of Page

jedigrover
Starting Member

USA
1 Posts

Posted - 08/04/2006 :  12:27:53 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
My "big three" needs to allow myself to move to Insteon are:

#1 - IR interface/bridge (like the existing X10 one that I use to control my lights using X10). i.e., the Insteon version of the IR-543: http://www.smarthome.com/4040.html Smarthome, when are we going to see this? I think everyone wants it.

#2 - a true capacitive switching fan controller. No dimmers please. Give me real speed selection and no hum. See how somebody did this by modifying X10 here: http://www.edcheung.com/automa/nohumkit.htm He has other pages where he describes in detail what he did and why. Smarthome, read it!

#3 - Ethernet bridge. Forget using USB or 232, just let me plug up to my switch and not require a dongle off my PC.




Darin Smith
Go to Top of Page

mike
Advanced Member

USA
1131 Posts

Posted - 08/08/2006 :  10:01:00 AM  Show Profile  Visit mike's Homepage  Send mike an AOL message  Reply with Quote
keep the ideas coming - these all sound great.

SmartLabsMike
INSTEON - Linking Everything to Everything Else.
http://www.insteon.net
Go to Top of Page
Page: of 33 Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
Previous Page | Next Page
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Jump To:
Smarthome Forum © 2000-2014 SmartLabs, Inc Go To Top Of Page
Powered By: Snitz Forums 2000 Version 3.4.07