New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

AV8Bert
Starting Member

2 Posts

Posted - 05/08/2012 :  7:06:00 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Good evening one and all,

I am new to home control (as will become obvious) but would like to seek some advice.

I am about to undertake a kitchen remodel and am looking to add some cool lighting controls to the finished product. I will basically have (4) seperate banks of lights to be controlled. (3) of the sets will be recessed lights and the last will be a set of pendant lights. Currently, I am not looking to get the undercabinet lights involved or the appliances but am open to that as well.

Due to the current layout of lights in the kitchen, I have decided to strip the ceiling off to get all of the new lighting exactly where I want it.

I have heard of systems that have a USB cable from the wall switch to some sort of control box on the ceiling which would then direct power to the light bank. There will be three total switches and the end state would be for each of them to be able to control that varying functions scenes, and settings for all four light banks.

I am also open to any other system that will acheive the end state of being able to control the (4) seperate light banks. I have seen UPB systems but since I have to add (2) new light banks to the ceiling, this doesn't seem to be a good option (I could be wrong). I have seen many wall switch controllers that would be perfect for the job but can't find the info on the nuts and bolts of the system behind the wall and in the ceiling.

Any recommendations for the way forward would be much appreciated.

Tim

stusviews

USA
10855 Posts

Posted - 05/08/2012 :  8:13:55 PM  Show Profile  Visit stusviews's Homepage  Reply with Quote
There are many paths for what you want to undertake, but IMO, it's best to go with conventional wiring keeping home automation in mind for two reasons. (I'm intentionally brief.)